Skip to content
September 16, 2014 / Vicki James

Sherlock Holmes and the case of the failed projects

I just ran across this great blog post describing the reasons for project failure through the eyes of Sherlock Holmes by Kailash Awati. It’s a bit lengthy for a blog post, but very entertaining, insightful, and well worth a read.

  • Do you agree with Sherlocks’ findings?
  • Can Strategies for Project Sponsorship help this organization?

Foreword

Of all the problems which had been submitted to my friend, Mr. Sherlock Holmes, for consideration during the years of our friendship, there has been one that stands out for the sheer simplicity of its resolution.  I have (until now) been loath to disclose details of the case as I felt the resolution to be so trivial as to not merit mention.

So why bring it up after all these years?

Truth be told, I am increasingly of the mind that Holmes’ diagnosis in the Case of the Failed Projects (as I have chosen to call this narrative), though absolutely correct, has been widely ignored. Indeed, the writings of Lord Standish and others from the business press have convinced me that the real lesson from his diagnosis is yet to be learnt by those who really matter:  i.e. executives and managers.

Continue reading…

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. K / Sep 18 2014 12:07 am

    Hi Vicki,

    Thanks so much for the mention!

    Your book is now on my reading list and I’m looking forward to getting some insights from it.

    Regards,

    Kailash.

Leave a comment